Lori Stanley Art

A Blog for and About Life and Works of Lori Stanley

Peaceful Sleep

Lori Stanley Painting

Lori Stanley Painting “Peaceful Sleep”

I will start this blog by saying that I sure do hope that Lori Stanley is having a peaceful sleep. The first thing that I must tell anyone that touches upon the shores of this remote blog located at the near ends of the blogosphere, is that this blog is a devotional page to an artist who will never paint another Magical painting nor ever see another spectacular blue pink California sun rise or sunset. Lori left this world in March of 1996.

Lori Stanley was born Lorraine Gay Stanley and was an artist that was active in the central California area during the 1980’s-90’s. Loris was simply stated a very complex woman. I shall not presume to have any great insights into the inner mechanisms of Lori. For that Fact I will admit that I was just a passing friend in her life. I knew her when I was stationed at Castle Air Force Base in Atwater, California, way back in 1986. We talked and had a few cups of tea/Coffee and shared our artistic views. I loved her art. There was just always something in so much of her art that I seemed to empathize with. I loved the big boldness of her images and the striking color choices that just thrust themselves upon the viewer! This first painting that I am displaying is sadly the only one of her works that I have. I have called it various things over the years. As far as I know she had no name for this one. I originally referred to it as Woman with Sleeping Dogs, and now I have started thinking of it as Peaceful Sleep. I am not just saying this because I have this painting, but because I believe it to be true. This was one if not the best piece that she ever did. Do not misunderstand. I have not seen every piece of art that she did, but I did see a fair number of them in the 1980’s. They were all great! But this one will always be the best to me.

I need to state here in this first post that this site will be solely for the viewing, sharing, and discussion of Lori Stanly’s art. This site will not be for buying, selling, appraisals or authenticating of any art or related items.

I would like this blog to showcase the art and life of Lori Stanley. If one has anything that they would like to contribute to this blog please contact me and I will get back to you as soon as possible. This blog is looking for images of Lori’s art, meaningful information and such. If you were one of Lori’s many friends I would love to hear from you.

Yours Hopefully,

Michael W. Moses

3 Comments

  1. If one has anything that they would like to contribute to this blog please contact me and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

  2. We are new to Lori’s art but would love to reblog this at toemail, with your permission, of course. Who knows, maybe you could get a few leads from it? http://toemail.wordpress.com

    • I would be very pleased for you to reblog. This blog is being specifically designed to let people know about Lori Stanley and her wonderful otherworldly images.

Leave a comment